Language tests for Canadian immigration

Posted on

Canada’s official bilingualism makes it unique among American nations. Both English and French have played an important role in Canada’s history. In fact, both are considered valid throughout the country. In addition, potential immigrants must demonstrate proficiency in these languages to successfully migrate. Fortunately, it is not necessary to know both languages, although it does increase your chances.

The two languages are not used equally across the country, although they are legally equal. In fact, Quebec is the only province where French is spoken more than English. However, French language skills will allow you to enter the country. Nevertheless, English is recommended if you need to learn either language, unless you plan to live in Quebec. Immigration to Quebec is different from the rest of Canada. You can read more about it in this article.

Every immigrant must take an official language test before immigrating to Canada. There are many different language tests. Today we will review the different tests and the reasons for choosing each one. If you want to emigrate to Canada, it is a good idea to start learning a language now.

The different language tests
You must take one of these tests before you can immigrate to Canada. There are two official tests in English and one in French. Each test is designed for a different purpose. Therefore, they have different advantages for different people.

IELTS – IELTS stands for International English Language Testing System. It is the most popular English language test. It has test centers all over the world, which makes it very accessible. It is a standard English test that English-speaking countries use for migration purposes. This makes it easier to find specific training for this test. Our allies at can help you prepare for this test if you are a Spanish speaker.

CELPIP – CELPIP stands for Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program. Canadian English is very slightly different as it borrows both British and American characteristics. Thus, the IRCC designed this test specifically for Canadian English. However, this test is practically only available in Canada. Recently, a testing center was established in Dubai, making it technically an internationally available test.

TEF – TEF stands for Test d’évaluation de français. It is the official language test for the French language in Canada. There are two variants: TEFAQ and TEF. The TEFAQ is only valid for migration to Quebec. On the other hand, the TEF is valid at both the federal and provincial levels. Thus, the standard TEF test is recommended, especially if you do not plan to live in Quebec. If you speak Spanish, you can learn French with our allies at

What language test results do I need?
Unfortunately, there is no single answer to this question. In fact, the score required for immigration changes for each immigration program. Thus, the required score depends on the path you choose to take. In fact, some points-based programs, such as Express Entry, reward higher language test scores with extra points. Fortunately, you can retake the tests if you are not satisfied with your results.

It is important to understand the Canadian Language Benchmarks (CLB) when it comes to test scores. In fact, CLB is a standard measure of English language proficiency used in Canada. The French equivalent is the NCLC (Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens). The lowest score is a 4 and the highest is a 10. Immigration programs require scores in the range of 5 to 7, depending on your immigration method.

Start your journey today
If you have no English or French skills, you can always start learning now. There are many resources available to help you get started, including our allies mentioned above. If you feel ready to begin your journey, you can make an appointment with one of our certified consultants. At Gentium Immigration, we are committed to helping you find your way to Canada. We look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *